Sullivan Township

September 6, 2022 Board Meeting Minutes

Sullivan Township Board Meeting Minutes    September 6, 2022

Meeting was called to order by Tony Mabrito at 5:30 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL: Present: Tony Mabrito-Supervisor, Libby Spencer-Clerk, Tracey McGhan-Treasurer, Joe Kremm-Trustee, John Carr-Trustee   Guests: Accountant Patrick Mutchler, Tom VanBurggen, and Luke Meerman  along with 21 residents were in attendance

MINUTES:  It was moved by Libby Spencer, supported by Tracey McGhan, to accept the minutes of the regular meeting held.  Motion carried.

FINANCE:  The Treasurer’s report on all Township receipts of $17,249.68 for the period of August 1, 2022, to August 31, 2022, was presented by Treasurer Tracey McGhan.  It was moved by John Carr, supported by Libby Spencer, to pay bills of $132,768.00 as presented by Clerk Libby Spencer.  Motion carried.

REPORTS: Planning Commission – Heather Rios reported that they worked on the Solar Panel and shipping container ordinances.                                                                                                        Michigan Township Services and Fresh Coast activity was also reviewed

OLD BUSINESS: Hile-Broton-Cline Road Project is complete.  Ordinance 14.01 was amended to include theses roads limiting the truck traffic.  Signs will be ordered this week.                                     -Ken Hulka was contacted, and he strongly discouraged allowing ORV on Hts. Ravenna Rd.  It was agreed that we will follow the ORV Ordinance as it stands.                                                                     -An additional Renovation Estimate for the upper level of the Hall was presented and it was decided that RJM Remodeling will be awarded the project on a 3 to 2 vote of the board.

NEW BUSINESS: FY2022/2023 Audit results were presented by Patrick Mutchler.  Patrick confirmed that our township is financially sound and stable.

-Tom VanBruggen, the GIS Administrator, presented the cemetery mapping functions as well as the zoning map services offered by his department.

-The residents to the north of Sheringer Road between Barnes and Sullivan Roads met with the board to discuss the 100’ of property that currently belongs to Sullivan township. We will be in contact with our lawyer to see how we can legally correct this situation.  We will be reaching out to the residents as soon as we know how to proceed.

-The Fall Newsletter will be sent out next week and the dump week will be September 26-30. The creation of an Annual Punch card versus dump weeks was presented before the board and maybe an option moving forward.

-Sullivan Lake Park has plans to extend the path to the trail and is waiting for approval from the DNR.

– One bid to resurface the Park parking lot was presented and we will be seeking two more bids for comparison.

-International Maintenance Code was passed by a 5 to 0 voted.  It will be published this week and will take affect 30 days from publication.

-An Amendment of the ORV Ordinance to include Golf Cart was discussed, but slated for next meeting.

DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS:  CLARIFICATION is needed to clear up any miscommunication regarding the ORV perimeters. No motorized vehicles are allowed on Sullivan township property.  We will adhere to the ORV Ordinance No. 2022-4.

-A resident also questioned the restrictions of ORVs on Wolf Lake Rd north of Hts. Ravenna Rd.  Egleston allows ORV traffic and he would like the board to consider this as well.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: It was requested to include the concerns with Motorized Vehicles trespassing of Township property.

-Luke Meerman introduced himself as a candidate for the 89th district representative. He asked us to feel to use him as a resource for cemetery and DNR connections,etc.

ADJOURNMENT:  There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Libby Spencer supported by Tracey McGhan to adjourn at 6:26 pm.  Motion carried.

Libby Spencer, Sullivan Township Clerk


Damage to the Park

Help for Seniors Available

New Voter Registration Laws and AV Laws

Hours of Operation















*Closed Daily 12:00 – 12:30

Elected Officials


Tony Mabrito


Libby Spencer


Tracey McGhan


Joe Kremm


John Carr