Sullivan Township

February 2023 Board Meeting Minutes

Sullivan Township Board Meeting     February 7, 2023

Meeting was called to order by Tony Mabrito at 5:30 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL: Present: Tony Mabrito-Supervisor, Libby Spencer-Clerk, Tracey McGhan-Treasurer, Joe Kremm-Trustee, Jeremy Rios-Trustee, along with 8 residents in attendance.

MINUTES:  It was moved by Joe Kremm supported by Tracey McGhan, to accept the minutes of the regular meeting held.  Motion carried.

FINANCE:  The Treasurer’s report on all Township receipts of $70,951.89 for the period of January 1, 2023, to January 31, 2023, was presented by Treasurer Tracey McGhan.It was moved by Tracey McGhan, supported by Joe Kremm, to pay bills of $39,794.25 as presented by Clerk Libby Spencer.  Motion carried.

REPORTS: Planning Commission – Jeremy Rios reported that officers were selected for the year and the GIS map is almost completely updated.  Board members were also present to explain the process residents will follow moving forward.  A correction to the PC bylaws was also approved by the board.

CORRESPONDENCE: Fresh Coast Planning Activity was reviewed. Mainly complaints of junk and inoperable vehicles.  Also work on drafts for the PC for Shipping Container and Pond Ordinances

-A letter was presented to the board in Reference to provide our Office Administrator with Holiday time off for Holidays that fall on days that the office is closed. It was agreed to investigate other options utilized by the township before deciding.


OLD BUSINESS: Sheringer Road Property 100ft ownership update has been tabled until we can review it with our lawyer.

There has been no word on the Spark Grant Approval for Sullivan Lake Park yet– Judy Kell


NEW BUSINESS: Appointment of Heather Rios and Tom Jasick to the Planning Commission for another two-year term.

-The board approved the appointment of a new lawyer to represent our township. Sawyer Rozgowski of Parmenter Law will be contacted tomorrow to congratulate him.

-Bonthuis Builders will be starting on the hall renovation in March.

-Sullivan Twp Planning and Zoning Fees and Escrow Accounts were reviewed and were unanimously accepted by the board.  A list of the fees is available at the office.

-Wolf Lake Road Nonconforming parcel was approved for building by the board

– The abandonment of Sheringer Rd between Carr and Wolf Lake Road will need to be further investigated by the Muskegon County Road Commission and our lawyer.

-A Request to abandon the Spaulding Rd right-of-way east of Barnes Rd was approved as long as the property owners making the request follow the standard construction of minimal roads and get the approval of both the MCRC and the Fire Department.

-Nonconforming Fence Complaint on Hts Ravenna Rd was raised and it was agreed that this should be treated as all other nonconforming complaints.

-Copy of FY2023-24 Township Budget to Review and will have any needed changes made to it before next meeting when it goes before the board for a vote.  Tony will be discussing the Road Projects with the MCRC concerning the condition of the Hile-Broton-Cline Chip and Seal, the work to be completed on Barnes, Sheringer, and Spaulding roads.  Also, Summit Road repaving.

-Board Meeting Schedule for 2023 was presented.  There will be an Election on May 2, 2023 so the May Board meeting will be moved to Thursday, May 4, 2023.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: A resident brought a concern about increased criminal activity with vehicle break-ins and trespassing.  A suggestion of a neighborhood watch was discussed as an option.  Those willing to participate in a neighborhood watch please call the office (231-853-6900) and provide your phone number and email address.  We will provide the meeting room and an officer to help organize the program.

ADJOURNMENT:  There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Libby Spencer supported by Joe Kremm to adjourn at 7:12pm.  Motion carried.

Libby Spencer, Sullivan Township Clerk


Damage to the Park

Help for Seniors Available

New Voter Registration Laws and AV Laws

Hours of Operation















*Closed Daily 12:00 – 12:30

Elected Officials


Tony Mabrito


Libby Spencer


Tracey McGhan


Joe Kremm


John Carr