Sullivan Township

June 2023 Board Meeting Minutes

Sullivan Township Board Meeting Minutes    June 6, 2023

The meeting was called to order by Tony Mabrito at 5:30 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL: Present: Tony Mabrito-Supervisor, Libby Spencer-Clerk, Tracey McGhan-Treasurer, Joe Kremm-Trustee, Jeremy Rios-Trustee.  There were also 13 residents present.

MINUTES:  It was moved by Joe Kremm, supported by Jeremy Rios, to accept the minutes of the regular meeting held.  Motion carried.

FINANCE:  The Treasurer’s report on all Township receipts of $13,337.24 for the period of May 1, 2023, to May 31, 2023, was presented by Treasurer Tracey McGhan.It was moved by Joe Kremm, supported by Tracey McGhan, to pay bills of $26,234.05 as presented by Clerk Libby Spencer.  Motion carried.

REPORTS: Planning Commission – Jeremy Rios reported that the shipping container and Pond Ordinances are ready for a Public Hearing and will be discussed at next week’s joint meeting.

-Michigan Township Services and Fresh Coast Planning activity

OLD BUSINESS: Furnace Quotes were reviewed, and we will be proceeding with the lowest bid.

-Tire Recycling will be held on September 16, from 9am to 1pm at the township hall parking lot

-Metro Application from Peninsula Fiber Optics was approved to run underground cable along Sternberg, Hostad and Ellis to provide improved service to AT&T towers

-Parking lot attachment to the Muskatawa Trail will continue this summer

NEW BUSINESS: Mowing Quotes were reviewed, and Bob Asphalt was awarded the job.

MCRC Paving and Hard Surface Contracts were approved for Repaving Summit Road from Brooks to Wolf Lake Road, Hard Surfacing (Double Chip and Seal) for Sheringer from Maple Island to Sullivan Road and Chip and Seal for portions of Barnes and Sheringer roads.

-Additional Road Brining of our dirt roads was discussed and denied

– Master Plan updating will be discussed at the joint meeting with the Planning Commission next week.

-Our Annual Newsletter was reviewed and will be sent out with the summer taxes this July.

-Sullivan Township discussed to option working more to Consumers Credit Union.

-There is an old upright Piano in the upper hall that needs a new home, please call the office if interested.

– Sullivan will be hosting an Open House to present all the improvements that have been made to the Upstairs Sullivan Township Hall.  Watch the website for more information.

-The opening up of a portion of the Township property to a limited number of ORV/side-by-sides was discussed at length.  A group has agreed to work together to present a proposal later this year.  If interested in working with this group, contact their Facebook page “Save the Sullivan Trails”.

– Updates to the Noise Ordinance have been moved to next month’s meeting so that the Board members can review the information provided to them.

DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS:  Our Joint Meeting with Planning Commission will be held next Tuesday June 13, 2023, at 5:30pm.  Due to the July Fourth holiday, the next Board Meeting will be held on Thursday July 6, 2023, at 5:30pm.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: Due to a Private drive being installed at the East end of Spaulding Road, clarification of property lines and the right-of-way provided by the MCRC was discussed.

-Residents on the Sullivan Road south of Pontaluna were present to discuss options to improve the road from dirt to a hard surface.

-A resident interested in possibly running for one of the elected official positions was concerned that the Sullivan Township officials are by far the lowest paid in any of the surrounding areas.  We explained to her that we do not have very few businesses so therefore we have limited funds to pay the officials.

ADJOURNMENT:  There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Libby Spencer, supported by Tracey McGhan to adjourn at 7:10pm.  Motion carried

Libby Spencer, Sullivan Township Clerk


Damage to the Park

Help for Seniors Available

New Voter Registration Laws and AV Laws

Hours of Operation















*Closed Daily 12:00 – 12:30

Elected Officials


Tony Mabrito


Libby Spencer


Tracey McGhan


Joe Kremm


John Carr